How to stop TikTok from suggesting your profile from shared video links

Engaging in viral TikTok trending dances and unlimited challenges can be fun, exhibiting a sense of freedom and playful craziness that we might not usually let ourselves indulge in on a normal day. It’s also fun sharing comic TikToks we tried out with friends and family members who’ll appreciate them most, dropping the links in our social accounts like little gifts. What’s irritating is when these two otherwise harmless activities collide, resulting in your mum watching you try out one insane challenge or the other.



When you share a TikTok video probably using a trending hashtag, the app automatically suggests your account profile to whoever opens the link, regardless of where you shared it from. While this feature can be useful if you want to build up solid followers base on the famous video-sharing app, it’s less than ideal for those who enjoy their privacy.


Fortunately, there is a way to stop TikTok from exposing your craziness to people you actually have to see in real life.



Below is a step-by-step guide on how to stop TikTok from suggesting that people follow your account whenever you share a video link.

  1. Open TikTok.
  2. Tap on your profile icon in the bottom right corner to go to your account profile page
  3. Tap the hamburger icon in the top right corner (“≡”). This will bring open your “Settings and privacy” menu.
  4. Under the “Account” subheading, tap on “Privacy” to go to your privacy settings.
  5. On the “Discoverability” subheading tap “Suggest your account to others”.
  6. From there, you will be directed to a menu with several toggles that allow you to control how others can find your account. Toggle off “People who open or send links to you.”

Once you’ve toggled that option off, copying a link from TikTok and sending it to a loved one will no longer leave you exposed.

Having turned that off, you can also explore and review your other privacy and discoverability settings preventing people from finding you through your added phone contacts, social media accounts like Facebook, and mutual connections as well. It’s probably a good idea to do so if you want to keep what happens on TikTok strictly on TikTok.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x