Make Money Online: Goldmine Online for Newbies and Pro

A Guide on How To Set Default Whatsapp Disappearing Message

WhatsApp, the instant messaging and voice-over-IP service owned by Meta Platforms in its drive to remain competitive is adding new functionality to its disappearing messages feature. This feature is one of the many features WhatsApp has been adding to its app on both the desktop and web in recent times. In late November, we saw the Whatsapp web built-in Sticker Maker.




This new functionality to its disappearing message feature lets users set messages in a chat to automatically be deleted after a set period of time. WhatsApp says users now have the option to turn on disappearing messages automatically for all their new one-on-one chats so that all future messages will be automatically deleted from the service.

When the feature first launched in November last year, users only had the option of having messages disappear after a period of seven days. But with this update to the feature, when you enable Disappearing Messages, you can now set messages to disappear 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days after the time they are sent.



WhatsApp notes that turning on disappearing messages by default won’t affect messages you previously sent or received in the chat. When you start a new one-on-one(individual) chat, a notice will appear to say that the disappearing messages feature is turned on, alongside a note that says it’s on by default (so your contacts don’t think it’s anything personal). Either user in an individual chat can also turn disappearing messages on or off.

Although the new default setting doesn’t affect group chats, WhatsApp says it’s added a new option when creating groups to let you enable the disappearing messages feature as, any group participants can turn disappearing messages on or off. However, a group admin can change group settings to allow only admins to turn disappearing messages on or off.

How The Disappearing Message Feature works

If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the 24 hour, 7 day, or 90 day period, the message will disappear from the chat. The most recent selection controls new messages in the chat. Messages sent or received before disappearing messages is enabled won’t be affected. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after the duration you select.
If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.
If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.

How To Turn Disappearing Messages On

  • Open the WhatsApp chat.
  • Tap the contact’s name.
  • Tap Disappearing messages.
  • If prompted, tap CONTINUE.
  • Select 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days. Once enabled, new messages in the chat will disappear after the duration you select.


How To Turn Disappearing Messages Off

  • Open the WhatsApp chat.
  • Tap the contact’s name.
  • Tap Disappearing messages.
  • If prompted, tap CONTINUE.
  • Select Off. Once disabled, new messages sent in the chat will no longer disappear.

How to Set Default Disappearing Message

For both iPhone and Android, the settings are the same

  • Go to WhatsApp Settings
  • Tap Account
  • Go To Privacy
  • Click Default message timer and select a duration.

These new features are now available across all platforms. For other instructions on how to use them visit WhatsApp’s FAQ.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.